Half way through the Internship with Wikimedia


Since it has been already six weeks passed and this is the seventh week of the FOSS OPW internship from this blog post I thought of speaking my overall experience in during the past weeks.

First let me introduce my background. I am a final year undergraduate from Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Moratuwa , Sri Lanka. So as you would have guessed final year is not easy. When the internship starts I was having a little bit of free time because my final year has not been started at that time. So I had plenty of time to engage in the internship work. This was new experience for me. For few months I have been engaged with open source communities. So when my internship starts I have a quiet good idea on how the open source communities work. But yet it was a new experience to me.

The assistance I got from my mentor was great. He was always there to guide me and show me the direction where I should focus. After the first few weeks my final year started and I started to get busy. That’s when things become a little bit tough.But however I love doing what I do. So although I have to manage my time more effectively to cover all the work I have at the end of the day I feel happy that I was able to do all the things I supposed to do.

So my advice for all is whatever it is do what you love. It will help you to get through tough times easily.

One comment

Leave a Reply

